Food for Thought

Passion Fruit Macaroons (Okay so this was from a box mix, but I just had to try... and eventually I will try from scratch.)

Passion Fruit Macaroons (Okay so this was from a box mix, but I just had to try… and eventually I will try from scratch.)

Since my job title has changed from Middle School Choir Director to Family Cruise Director, family planner, and travel agent… (this is not to say The Mister doesn’t help with any of the a fore mentioned, I just have to put my new role into some category for myself), I find that I am lucky to have more time to spend piddling in the kitchen.

The Mister and I both really enjoy cooking.  He is really good at “flying by the seat of his pants.”  I.E.  just adding spices as they pop into his head, all with good reason, and some with great curiosity.  He is also good at experimenting with different ingredient pairings, either that came from his “pretty little head,”  or maybe we found a pairing we liked at a restaurant and wanted to try it ourselves.  While I on the other hand, like to follow a recipe.  Maybe that’s because I do a bit more baking.  I don’t know everything by any means, but know enough to know that often in baking the slightest change in amounts of ingredients, or sometimes even order can make or break a recipe and it’s outcome.

So this post is not meant to tell you The Mister and I’s cooking experience and history… this is merely meant to be a sharing of my/our culinary experiments thus far in Malaysia.  I may even throw in some of the cuisine we have had at local restaurants.  I have found that in some cases shopping for ingredients can be really easy.  There is an abundance of spices, especially curries, Indian and certainly Asian inspired spices which are easy to find.  Other ingredients though, which, at home would be easy to pick up… are not anywhere to be found.  So some recipes to follow have been improvised to accommodate for our new habitat.   I know there are a few “specialty” cooking stores, like for baking needs… but I either don’t know about them yet, they don’t exist, or  they are in a more “local” part of town, where I’m just too scared to drive to yet…(did I mention there are rarely parking spots, people double and triple park you in, while they dine on lunch or have a coffee, and most streets don’t have street signs and if they do, it’s highly likely that its name is different in the GPS than what’s on any sign you could find.)

So on to the pictures.  I know that’s what you are really here for.  These are in no particular order.  Enjoy!

candied ginger lemon scones (from scratch) I think these were the first thing I baked here in Malaysia.  They may have already been in a previous post, but they are worth mentioning again, if I do say so myself).

candied ginger lemon scones (from scratch) I think these were the first thing I baked here in Malaysia. They may have already been in a previous post, but they are worth mentioning again, if I do say so myself).  Enjoy this recipe.

DSC_0400 DSC_0396 scones, scones and more scones!

Sorry I don't have the final product but these are most of the ingredients for Black Bean and Sweet Potato Enchiladas, which we made more like tacos.  They are delish)

Sorry I don’t have the final product but these are most of the ingredients for Black Bean and Sweet Potato Enchiladas, which we made more like tacos. They are delish)

Little Lady Break... one day we had lunch with a picture of her as a baby and one of our wedding pics with my sister and both sets of parents... the Whole family came to lunch.

Little Lady Break… one day we had lunch with a picture of her as a baby and one of our wedding pics with my sister and both sets of parents…  the Whole family came to lunch.

Fun with food storage containers…

DSC_0438 DSC_0437 DSC_0436 DSC_0435

Okay, okay… back to the food!

HOMEMADE NAAN dough!  They turned out great and well worth the work (which wasn't actually to much.)

HOMEMADE NAAN dough! They turned out great and well worth the work (which wasn’t actually to much.)

the finished product.  Warm and yummy

the finished product. Warm and yummy

IMG_0918

Homemade bread

IMG_0903

mini burgers and asparagus

IMG_0900

pecan sticky buns

IMG_0897

Chorizo, egg, tomato and banana

DSC_0352

Lasagna

DSC_0284

More yummy bread!

IMG_0857

beef rolls

IMG_0855

homemade chipotle pimento cheese

IMG_0805

chicken and broccoli with noodles and peanut sauce

IMG_0794

Taco night was a must!

IMG_0854

In other news, The Mister had a last minute work trip home, to Hosuton.  I was excited for him, since he won’t be there as long as The Little Lady and I over the holiday break… This all means he is seeing family and friends, no doubt over great food.  He was able to surprise many people at church too.  We miss him terribly, but are so happy he is having this time.  The little Lady and I have about 2 weeks before we make our way across the pond… many ponds that is.

Until next time…

 

About Casey

I am a new mom. I am a teacher. I am a daughter. I am a wife. And we are going on the adventure of a lifetime, becoming an expat.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Family, Houston, Kuala Lumpur. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

